St Brigid’s Catholic Church
St Brigid’s Catholic Church at 28 Matthews Street is reputedly the largest wooden Catholic Church in Australia. It is a magnificent wooden building characterised by great craftsmanship. The church was designed, and partially paid for, by Father Andrew Horan and opened on 13 February 1910 by Bishop Duhig. It was made entirely of timber with the foundations being timber stumps set on timber bed logs.
The Heritage Register records: “The interior of the northern wall was improved for the 1935 Jubilee Celebrations. Three stained glass windows by RS Exton & Co of Brisbane, and flanking murals on fibre supports by the important Queensland artist, William Bustard, were added. A scroll on the diagonal boards of the lower central section of this wall was probably painted about this time.”
Rising Sun Hotel
Located at 27 School Street is the interesting Rising Sun Hotel which was built in 1908 and still retains its unusual corner roof turret and its elaborate veranda and awnings. It was designed by Ipswich architect, Will Haenke. It is a 1908 version of a Rising Sun Hotel which had originally been located at the bridge across the Bremer River and had operated as the local Cobb & Co coach stopping point. The current building was operated originally by the Sloane family until the 1970s and achieved local fame not only because, during the Great Depression, the Sloanes operated a soup kitchen on the back veranda, but it was also the home for a variety of local business people including the local doctor, chemist, bank manager and dentist.
Adjacent to the main roundabout on the corner of Langfield Road and John Street is ‘Glendalough’, a gracious timber house built in the early 1900s with additions in the 1910s, which is a superb example of the opulence of the local merchants of the time. It was built for Thomas Ernest Bulcock, a prosperous local storekeeper. The Queensland Heritage Register describes the building as “Glendalough is important in demonstrating the principal characteristics of a substantial, early 20th century timber residence of a wealthy and influential local citizen, designed to impress, which employs decorative timberwork, design elements which accommodate the warm Queensland climate – including wide verandahs on all sides and a well-ventilated summer sleeping pavilion – and a substantial garden.
Rosewood Rail Museum
The Rosewood Railway Museum is located 6 km from Rosewood at 57a Freeman Road, Ashwell. It has an extensive range of diesel, steam and electric locomotives and rolling stock and is open seven days a week. It runs steam trains on the last Sunday of each month. Check out http://www.arhs-qld.org.au/rosewood-railway-museum for times, prices and details. The website describes the journey: ” The restored route climbs a spur of the Little Liverpool range providing 180° scenic views from Mt Flinders to the Great Dividing Range while visitors experience all the sights, sounds, and atmosphere of an authentic historic steam train journey.” The journey traverses the district between Cabanda and Kunkala. It also has an “Engine Driver Experience” where a visitor can learn to drive a steam locomotive. For general enquiries tel: (07) 3252 1759, Tuesday – Thursday from 10.00 am – 3.00 pm.