Defence in NSW


New South Wales is home to a number of Defence units of all three Services. Most units are based around the greater Sydney and Newcastle areas with others at Singleton, Wagga and Jervis Bay.


Located at Potts Point, Sydney Fleet Headquarters (FHQ) is adjacent to the Garden Island Dockyard and Fleet Base East on the southern shore of Sydney Harbour. The Headquarters supports maritime operations and is organised functionally, with major divisions for operations planning, command/control communications and intelligence, as well as logistic and administration support.

HMAS KUTTABUL provides administrative, training and logistics support to Defence personnel, both uniformed and civilian employed within the Sydney area.

HMAS Penguin’s primary role is to provide trained personnel to the Fleet and it is the home of the RAN Diving School, the RAN Hydrographic School and the Medical Training School.

HMAS WATERHEN is the parent establishment for Australia ‘s Mine Countermeasures (MCM) Force, Clearance Diving Team One and a variety of Support Craft.

HMAS WATSON is the premier RAN maritime warfare training establishment. It is the home of the Training Authority Maritime Warfare and is part of the Navy Systems Command.

The Royal Australian Naval College (RANC) is based beside picturesque Jervis Bay on the south coast of New South Wales and is responsible for training Navy’s future leaders.

HMAS Creswell is located on the south-western shores of Jervis Bay. Creswell consists of the RAN College and four other departments.

HMAS ALBATROSS at Nowra is home of the Royal Australian Navy’s Fleet Air Arm. It is the largest operational Naval establishment and the Navy’s only Air Station.


The Sydney region is home to the Land Command Headquarters, HQ Logistics Support Force, HQ Force Support Group, with many units located at historic Victoria Barracks on Oxford Street, and at Randwick.

Holsworthy Barracks is the largest Army facility in NSW. Holsworthy is home to growing Special Forces presence including Headquarters Special Operations Command, 4th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (Commando), the Incident Response Regiment, the Special Operations Combat Services Support Company.

Lone Pine Barracks at Singleton is the home of the School of Infantry and the Special Forces Training Centre.

Kapooka at Wagga is the home of the Army Recruit Training Centre.


RAAF Base Richmond is the home of Air Lift Group and is the hub of the Air Force in New South Wales. Aircraft operating from RAAF Richmond include the C-130J operated by No 37 Squadron.

RAAF Base Williamtown 30 kilometres north of Newcastle is the primary fighter base for the Royal Australian Air Force, and home to most of the F/A-18A/B Hornet and BAE Hawk fighters. The base is headquarters to Air Combat Group, which commands Australia’s front line fighter and strike aircraft.

RAAF Base Glenbrook, in the foothills of the Blue Mountains is home to Headquarters Air Command and Combat Support Unit.

RAAF Base Wagga Wagga is home to the RAAF School of Management and Training Technology trade training schools and the No 1 Recruit Training Unit (1RTU).

For more information on Defence establishments go to


Leave A Reply