Defence in South Australia


South Australia is home to a number of major Defence establishments. Facilities in the Adelaide area include the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO), the Osborne construction and maintenance site for conventionally powered submarines at Port Adelaide, the Defence Technology Precinct adjacent to DSTO, and RAAF Base Edinburgh.


Navy Headquarters South Australia (NHQ-SA) is located in Keswick Barracks, just on the southern outskirts of Adelaide, approximately 25 minutes’ travel from Port Adelaide and 40 minutes’ travel from the Submarine Construction Facility at Osborne. A small Naval Yard is located at the Birkenhead Naval Yard in Port Adelaide, which houses Diving Team 9.


Army Headquarters South Australia is currently located at Keswick Barracks, with military establishments at Hampstead and Warradale. The 16th Air Defence Regiment is located at Woodside Barracks in the Adelaide Hills, approximately 45 minutes’ drive from Adelaide city. South Australia has a large Army contingent with units all over the state including 7RAR located at RAAF Base Edinburgh.


The Royal Australian Air Force’s RAAF Base Edinburgh – along with the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO) – is located on the site of the Salisbury wartime munitions factory. The RAAF Base today consists of operational squadrons and support units. It is primarily home to 92 Wing’s AP-3C Orion maritime patrol aircraft that conduct surveillance operations throughout Australia’s airspace, Aerospace Operational Support Group that conducts research and development.


Leave A Reply