Education in Queensland


Education Queensland delivers high-quality and accessible public education to around 70 per cent of all Queensland school students through the state schooling system. The Department is responsible for almost 1300 schools staffed by more than 36,000 teachers and attended by almost 480,000 students. All state schools are coeducational.

The school year usually runs from late January to mid December. It is divided into two semesters with two terms in each, and vacation breaks for Easter, winter, spring and summer. Parents are free to send their children to the school of their choice, depending on available places. Most schools hold classes from 9 am to 3 pm Monday to Friday, except for public and school holidays and student-free days.

Preparatory Year

Children are able to attend a non-compulsory, full-time Preparatory year of schooling. Children must be aged five by 30 June in the year they enrol.


Children must be aged six by 30 June in the year they enrol in Year 1 in Queensland. For a child entering Year 1, schools require proof of the child’s date of birth, such as a birth certificate, passport or visa.


Students are eligible to enter the first year of Queensland secondary schooling, Year 7, after completing six years of primary education.


Leave A Reply