Education in South Australia


Parents may choose to send their children to a government, independent or Catholic school or preschool. It is compulsory for children to be enrolled in a school by their sixth birthday.

The start date for school for all children is the first day of Term 1. Government schools are commonly referred to as public schools and kindergarten is the same as preschool.

All young people under the age of 17 are required to attend full-time schooling, training or work for at least 25 hours per week.International students who wish to study and live in South Australia may attend public schools.

Options for each stage of learning

Children 0 to 7 years of age are in the early stage of learning. This stage includes: childcare, preschool (kindergarten), reception (children usually begin primary school in reception at 5 or 6 years of age), then years 1 and 2 of primary school (usually children between 6 and 7 years of age).

8-10 year olds are usually in the primary years stage of learning. This stage includes year 3 to year 5 of primary school.

11-14 year olds are usually in the middle years stage of learning. This covers: years 6 and 7 of primary school, years 8 and 9 of high school.

15-17 year olds are usually in the secondary years stage of learning. This covers year 10 to year 12 of high school.

In high school, students may choose to complete year 12 and obtain their South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE), or go on to other education and training options or work.

Young people aged 17 and older may choose to return to school to complete SACE, continue with formal study, participate in a community education program or start work.


Leave A Reply